Being A Writer Is Like Falling in Love

92y:

“When you write, you have to be naked. Warts and all. And not only see yourself naked, but allow the world to see you naked. And that takes a different kind of courage than the physical courage. And I’ve noticed it in different ways, for example, people who are very ideological and they stick to one set of ideologies. They never want to see the world or themselves in any other light. … But when you’re a writer, you don’t have that luxury. You have to lay bare. And laying bare and telling the truth is very difficult. It is like falling in love, you don’t know what you expect, how it’s going to end.”

Sandra Cisneros answers an audience question about finding the courage to write.

Watch the full discussion with Azar Nafisi and Cisneros.

I am often caught totally bewildered, but not the least bemused, when i hear or read someone state that they are not a reader, do not/can not enjoy reading, or find reading to be ‘boring’… i am perplexed on how reading, which is such an elemental, intrinsic part of me, one which, for me, holds category with breathing, is an optional activity… it has only been through reading that I have learned who I am, how to dream, how to work, how I feel, what I value, and of ciurse, the who what where how what of everything I know and think …

Leave a Reply

