Maternal Instincts

It’s as if I was thinking aloud and she took notes for me. Important to remind myself that love ❤ is a verb, an action word, and that my brand of love ❤ is all about purpose, strength, character building.

See, there's this thing called biology...

mom

Not long ago I said that love was not always about making people happy, that to genuinely love somebody sometimes requires you to make them unhappy, to risk their rejection and hostility because genuine love demands you put their best interests first. Their best interests may be in direct conflict with what they think they want. I used motherhood as an example which led a non believer to declare, “is that what you think you job is, to make your kids as unhappy as possible?”

All in good humor here, but uh, yes! Precisely! I live to make my kids as miserable as possible. That is my very purpose in life. Have you never had teen-agers before? Let me tell you, if they aren’t hating on you, you’re probably doing something wrong.

Okay, all snark aside, but who can ever forget the delighted toddler, naked as a jaybird, having an…

View original post 670 more words

Leave a Reply

